Proposal

It didn’t take me more than 30 minutes to come up with this idea to create a website where multiple charities across New Zealand can be listed. When I was a teenager, I used to wonder why is there evil in the world, why there is so much injustice around, my worldview required some transformation. Seeing me contemplating a lot on these things, my dad introduced me to the world of philanthropy,  made me aware of the generous culture of giving back to the society.

In the fast-paced digitized world of blinking screens, world needs more nonprofit organizations, charities that seek to spread compassion and empathy, and allow society a way to give without getting anything in return. Launching another charity website wasn’t a great idea when there are hundreds of websites already existing. I realized that part of the problem was not that people are not doing enough charity, it was that they are not well-informed of the burning causes that need their attention and support.

Taking inspiration from the world around, and for the love of humanity, I build this platform wherein all the charities, non-profits are listed. A walk to redemption is designed to help bring together volunteers and philanthropists to spread the call of service and make generosity a part of everyday life.

Layout of the website is simple, visually appealing and most importantly easy to navigate. Website is for social entrepreneurs, volunteers, philanthropists and for all those people who are stuck in their fast paced life and need a platform to get informed about the problems in society and where all they can contribute.

I used Zerif lite which is one of the most popular and creative theme in the WordPress directory. Now, that the average attention span is reduced to less than 4 seconds in 2015, it was crucial for me to get to the point across quickly and the grab the attention of my visitors; zerif lite’s layout came as a perfect choice which is also mobile responsive.

I directed my efforts to inform my visitors on the homepage itself, It’s more of a scrolling website that informs people of the most important updates around charities causes. I made sure that I direct visitors to charities straight through the sections on the index page without losing traffic on my website. Menu tabs further have dropped down menus for visitors to easily navigate to all the pages. Dropped downs also helped me in organizing the content into small categories. Visitors will find an easy contact form and social menu at the end of the home page itself, making it easier for visitors to connect with us on different social platforms, and give us feedback without much hassle. Typography is simple and elegant, all the menu tabs are in uppercase using nice-looking Lato and Sans serif fonts.This website has the potential to grow further as endless charities can be listed, also the footprints can be extended to other countries in the future.

Leave a comment